The Marijuana Legal In Michigan for the use of recreational marijuana in Dec 2019. It is mandatory to be extremely knowledgeable about the laws in Michigan. Michigan will allow for adult-use recreational marijuana starting December 6, 2019. The effective date for the law is January 1, 2020, so there will not be any recreational sales before then. Before you start celebrating this upcoming change, it might be wise to educate yourself on the new laws surrounding Marijuana Legal In Michigan.
What is the history of Marijuana Legal In Michigan?
Many years of lobbying resulted in a bill to allow recreational marijuana use in Michigan. The bill was passed on November 6, 2018, and then signed into law by Gov. Rick Snyder on December 21, 2018. It is now legal in Michigan to possess, consume or transport up to 2.5 oz of cannabis for personal use (1/2 ounce of concentrate). The effective date is January 1, 2020, so it will not be legal to possess or purchase marijuana until then. However, you can be issued a license and begin using it immediately. It is recommended to get a license before that time, though:
Getting a license early in the process ensures more time for your application to be examined and approved. If you can apply for a license before the effective date, you have an advantage over others who may wait until after the law goes into effect. The Division of ans has no plans to issue licenses in 2019 but may do so during the summer of 2020. The early availability of licenses is especially important for those who are interested in growing and selling marijuana, as there are only a limited number of licenses that may be issued.
What is the possession limit? How many plants or flowering plants can I have in my backyard?
You can possess up to 2.5 oz of marijuana in your primary residence and up to 10 oz at a friend’s home as long as that person is 21 or older. The following the state’s Responsible Marijuana Law Enforcement Act passed in 2018. Residents may also have 12 plants if 12 or fewer are grown on less than 5 acres. The number of plants allowed for more than 5 acres is increased by 100 (i.e., up to 13,000 on 50 acres).
Where can I sell recreational marijuana in Michigan once it is legal? What kind of license do I need to start selling recreational marijuana in Michigan?
There are three stages of licenses that the licensing Division of the state may issue:
1) Provisioning centre license:
It Allows for a facility to sell and distribute up to 2.5 oz of marijuana to the public. It also allows for purchasing and transporting seeds, seedlings, immature plants and usable marijuana up to 2.5 oz. The Commission may authorize additional cultivation space beyond the 1,500 square feet. If it determines that it is necessary for the effective operation of a provisioning centre or if authorized by local ordinance. This license is valid for 3 years and costs $66,000.
2) Marijuana Retail License:
Marijuana Retail License Allows for up to 5 locations where marijuana may be sold, with a maximum combined square footage of 6,000. The license holder may also possess up to 2.5 oz of usable marijuana per household and have a maximum of 12 plants with up to 60 days of flowering time. Up to 15 retail licenses will be available in the state, and the application fee is $8,200. The state will review applications on a priority system based on the number and type of retail licenses already issued by the state in addition to criminal history, financial record and local application process.
3) Marijuana Processor License:
This License Allows the operation of a manufacturing facility that processes marijuana into items like foods, beverages, ointments, tinctures and other usable forms. The licensee may also possess up to 2.5 oz of marijuana flowers and seeds. There is no limit on the production of marijuana at this license. The state will review applications on a priority system based on the number and type of retail licenses already issued by the state. As well as criminal history and financial record.
Can I drive under the influence of marijuana in Michigan?
Yes, you can. No law prohibits driving, walking or operating any heavy machinery while under the influence of marijuana. You can be charged with Driving While Impaired by Marijuana if a law enforcement officer suspects you are impaired while driving or operating heavy machinery. For example, if you operate a motor vehicle within 2 hours of consumption. (however, it must be more than 1/4 ounce), a police officer may ask to have your blood tested. The same goes for motor vehicles and aeroplanes. If you are stopped for minor traffic violations and consent to a search. This should not be done unless the officer feels safe doing so. You should be taken to a facility for testing if an officer suspects any impairment.
As you can see, there are many unanswered questions surrounding Marijuana Legal In Michigan. The process of passing this law was long, drawn out and rushed through the legislative process. It is up to the people of Michigan (as well as those watching for legalization) to get educated. So .the dominoes began to fall in order when the laws went into effect on January 1, 2020. We are not convinced of the state’s motives regarding this bill or its intent behind passing it.